Pastor John’s Sermons 2012-2013

Pastor Rev. John C. Stennfeld

Sunday, December 2, 2012
The ‘Trap’-ings of Christmas: The ‘To Do’ List (Text: Luke 1:26-28, 31-37)

Sunday, December 9, 2012
The ‘Trap’-ings of Christmas: The Greeting Cards (Text: Luke 1:8-15, 26-33; 2:9-11)

Sunday, December 16, 2012
The ‘Trap’-ings of Christmas: The Songs (Text: Luke 2:13-14)

Sunday, December 23, 2012
The ‘Trap’-ings of Christmas: The Gifts (Text: James 1:17 & Luke 2:11-12)

Christmas Eve, Monday, December 24, 2012
The ‘Trap’-ings of Christmas: The Lights (Text: John 1:1-9)

Christmas Day, Tuesday, December 25, 2012
The ‘Trap’-ings of Christmas: The Tree (Text: John 1:1-9)

Sunday, January 6, 2013
The ‘All-Inclusive’ Nature of Christ (Text: Isaiah 60:1-6)

Sunday, January 13, 2013
Fear Not (Text: Isaiah 43:1-2)

Sunday, January 21, 2013
You Will Have Trouble (Text: John 16:33)

Sunday, January 27, 2013
Empty Pews at Empty Churches (Text: Luke 4:16-21)

Sunday, February 3, 2013
“Can’t” is a 4-Letter Word (Text: Jeremiah 1:4-10)

Sunday, February 10, 2013
Face to Face (Text: Deuteronomy 34:1-12)

Wednesday, February 13, 2013
The Kingdom of Heaven is Like… Sermon I: A Mustard Seed (Text: Matthew 13:31-32)

Sunday, February 17, 2013
Grateful Giving (Text: Deuteronomy 26:1-11)

Wednesday, February 20, 2013
The Kingdom of Heaven is Like… Sermon II: Yeast (Text: Matthew 13:33)

Sunday, February 24, 2013
The Truth Hurts – But It Also Heals (Text: Jeremiah 26:8-15)

Wednesday, February 27, 2013
The Kingdom of Heaven is Like… Sermon III: Hidden Treasure (Text: Matthew 13:44)

Sunday, March 3, 2013
Making the Evil Pay (Text: Ezekiel 33:7-20)

Wednesday, March 6, 2013
The Kingdom of Heaven is Like… Sermon IV: A Net (Text: Matthew 13:47-50)

Wednesday, March 13, 2013
The Kingdom of Heaven is Like… Sermon V: A Landowner (Text: Matthew 20:1-16)

Sunday, March 17, 2013
Thou Shalt “Not” Love This World (Text: 1 John 2:15-17)

Wednesday, March 20, 2013
The Kingdom of Heaven is Like… Sermon VI: A King (Text: Matthew 18:21-35)

Palm Sunday, March 24, 2013
If These Stones Could Talk (Text: Luke 19:40)

Maundy Thursday, March 28, 2013
Covered by Blood (Text: Exodus 12:13)

Good Friday, March 29, 2013
“Good” Friday? (Text: Isaiah 53:4-5)

Easter Sunday, March 31, 2013
Why Easter Matters (Text: Job 19:23-27)

Sunday, April 7, 2013
Everything Will Be Alright (Text: John 20:19 & Acts 5:12-20)

Sunday, April 14, 2013
Why Me Lord? (Text: Acts 9:1-22)

Sunday, April 21, 2013
Positioning Oneself to Serve (Text: Acts 20:17-35)

Sunday, April 28, 2013
New is Better Than Old (Text: Revelation 21:5)

Sunday, May 5, 2013
Facing the Storms (Text: Psalm 27:1 & Mark 4:35-41)

Sunday, May 12, 2013
A Mother’s Comfort (Text: Revelation 22:1-6, 12-20; Isaiah 66:13)

Sunday, May 19, 2013
Where Have All the Miracles Gone? (Text: Acts 2:1-21)

Sunday, May 25, 2013
Going for God (Text: Matthew 5:14-16 & Isaiah 6:8)

Sunday, June 2, 2013
Preaching the Psalms: Afternoon Delight (Text: Psalm 1)

Sunday, June 9, 2013
Preaching the Psalms: You is Important (Text: Psalm 8)

Sunday, June 16, 2013
Preaching the Psalms: Confession Is Good for the Soul (Text: Psalm 32:1-7 (8-11))

Sunday, June 30, 2013
Preaching the Psalms: A Mighty Safe-Room Is Our God (Text: Psalm 91 & 46)

Sunday, July 7, 2013
Preaching the Psalms: God Shed His Grace on Thee (Text: Psalm 136)

Sunday, July 14, 2013
Preaching the Psalms:  Do You Know Who I Am? (Text: Psalm 139)

Sunday, July 21, 2013
Preaching the Psalms: Thirsting for God (Text: Psalm 42:1-2)

Sunday, July 28, 2013
Preaching the Psalms: The Majesty of God (Text: Psalm 29, 93 & 96)

Sunday, August 11, 2013
Believing God (Text: Genesis 15:1-6)

Sunday, August 18, 2013
They’ve Got Us Surrounded (Text: Hebrews 11:17-40, 12:1-3)

Sunday, August 25, 2013
God Doesn’t Need Your Bull (Text: Psalm 50:1-15)

Sunday, September 1, 2013
The Age of Discontent (Text: Hebrews 13:5)

Sunday, September 8, 2013
The Real Great Commission (Text: Matthew 28:18-20 & II Timothy 3:15-17)

Sunday, September 15, 2013
Welcoming Sinners (Text: Luke 15:1-2)

Sunday, September 22, 2013
God Never Forgets (Text: Amos 8:4-7)

Sunday, September 29, 2013
Angels Watching Over Us (Text: Psalm 91)

Sunday, October 6, 2013
How Long, O Lord? (Text: Habakkuk 1:1-4, 2:1-4)

Sunday, October 13, 2013
What’s in It for Me? (Text: Ruth 1:1-17)

Sunday, October 20, 2013
Putting God in an Armbar (Text: Genesis 32:22-30)

Sunday, October 27, 2013
The Truth About ‘The Truth’ (Text: John 8:31-32)

Sunday, November 3, 2013
‘They’ Are Us (Text: Revelation 7:9-17)

Sunday, November 10, 2013
If Your ‘I’ Causes You to Sin (Text: Exodus 3:1-15)

Sunday, November 17, 2013
Good News or Bad News? (Text: Malachi 4:1-6 & Luke 21:5-36)

Sunday, November 24, 2013
Yolo (Text: Romans 13:8-14)

Sunday, November 27, 2013
Giving Thanks Always (Text: Daniel 6:10 & I Thessalonians 5:18)