Pastor John’s Sermons 2010-2011

Pastor Rev. John C. Stennfeld

Sunday, November 28, 2010
Secular Songs of the Season – Sermon I: Angels Among Us (Text: Hebrews 1:14; 13:2)

Sunday, December 5, 2010
Secular Songs of the Season – Sermon II: What’s Christmas All About? (Text: I John 4:7-12)

Sunday, December 12, 2010
Secular Songs of the Season – Sermon III: Your Grown-Up Christmas List (Text: Revelation 21:1-5a)

Sunday, December 19, 2010
Secular Songs of the Season – Sermon IV: Do They Know It’s Christmas (Text: Romans 10:11-15)

Christmas Eve, Friday, December 24, 2010
Secular Songs of the Season – Sermon V: Where Are You Christmas (Text: John 3:16 & 1 John 4:7-11)

Christmas Day, Saturday, December 25, 2010
Secular Songs of the Season – Sermon VI: Merry Christmas (Text: Luke 2:9-11)

Sunday, January 2, 2011
One Wish (Text: I Kings 3:4-15)

Sunday, January 9, 2011
The Epiphany of Baptism (Text: Matthew 3:13-17)

Sunday, January 16, 2011
God’s Retribution (Text: Isaiah 49:1-6)

Sunday, January 23, 2011
Following the Leader (Text: Matthew 4:12-22)

Sunday, January 30, 2011
Christ Crucified! (Text: I Corinthians 1:22-25)

Sunday, February 6, 2011
A Bunch of No-Good Do-Gooders (Text: Matthew 5:13-16)

Sunday, February 20, 2011
Turn the Other Cheek (Text: Matthew 5:38-48)

Sunday, February 27, 2011
A Stress-free Life (Text: Matthew 6:24-34)

Sunday, March 6, 2011
The Transfiguration 10.0 (Text: Matthew 17:1-9)

Ash Wednesday, March 9, 2011
Jesus – A Man of Sorrows – Hunted by Herod (Text: Matthew 2:1-18)

Wednesday, March 16, 2011
Jesus – A Man of Sorrows – Resented by His Neighbors (Text: Luke 4:14-30)

Sunday, March 20, 2011
Whoever (Text: John 3:15-16)

Wednesday, March 23, 2011
Jesus – A Man of Sorrows – Ridiculed by His Relatives (Text: Mark 3:20-21 & John 7:3-5)

Sunday, March 27, 2011
An Incomprehensible Love (Text: Romans 5:1-8)

Wednesday, March 30, 2011
Jesus – A Man of Sorrows – Deserted by His Disciples (Text: John 6:53-66)

Sunday, April 3, 2011
God’s Power + My Weakness = Perfection (Text: John 9:1-3)

Wednesday, April 6, 2011
Jesus – A Man of Sorrows – Rejected by the Jews (Text: Matthew 27:15-26)

Sunday, April 10, 2011
Jesus’ Message of Hope (Text: John 11:17-27)

Wednesday, April 13, 2011
Jesus – A Man of Sorrows – Mocked by the Soldiers (Text: Matthew 27:27-31)

Palm Sunday, April 17, 2011
Jesus – A Man of Sorrows – Betrayed by Judas (Text: Luke 22:1-6)

Maundy Thursday, April 21, 2011
Jesus – A Man of Sorrows – Denied by Peter (Text: Matthew 26:69-75)

Good Friday, April 22, 2011
Jesus – A Man of Sorrows – Forsaken by God (Text: Matthew 27:41-50)

Easter Sunday, April 24, 2011
Making One’s Life Count (Text: Colossians 3:1-2)

Sunday, May 1, 2011
Where is the Passion (Text: Acts 5:29-42)

Sunday, May 8, 2011
Knowing Jesus (Text: Luke 24:13-35)

Sunday, May 15, 2011
Suffering for Salvation (Text: 1 Peter 2:13-25)

Sunday, May 22, 2011
In Jesus’ Name (Text: John 14:12-14)

Sunday, May 29, 2011
Living the Hope (Text: 1 Peter 3:15)

Sunday, June 5, 2011
Stand Firm (Text: 1 Peter 4:12-17, 5:6-11)

Sunday, June 12, 2011
Speaking for God (Text: Numbers 11:24-30)

Sunday, June 19, 2011
You Are Not Alone (Text: Matthew 28:20)

Sunday, July 3, 2011
Sermon I of This is a Hard Teaching: Christian Citizenship (Text: Romans 13:1-7)

Sunday, July 10, 2011
Sermon II of This is a Hard Teaching: You Will Have Trouble (Text: John 15:18-21, 16:33)

Sunday, July 17, 2011
Sermon III of This is a Hard Teaching: Sincerity Does Not Equal Salvation (Text: Matthew 7:13-14)

Sunday, July 24, 2011
Sermon IV of This is a Hard Teaching: Submissive Discipleship (Text: 1 Peter 2:13-21)

Sunday, July 31, 2011
Sermon V of This is a Hard Teaching: Love Your Enemies (Text: Luke 6:27-36)

Sunday, August 7, 2011
Questioning God (Text: Job 38:4-18)

Sunday, August 14, 2011
Entitled to God’s Blessing? (Text: Matthew 15:21-28)

Sunday, August 21, 2011
Perceptions of Jesus (Text: Matthew 16:13-20)

Sunday, September 4, 2011
I Am the Greatest (Text: Matthew 18:1-4)

Sunday, September 11, 2011
Teach Your Children Well (Text: Proverbs 22)

Sunday, September 18, 2011
Living in a Crazy World (Text: Matthew 24:4-13)

Sunday, September 25, 2011
Reviewing Your Life (Text: Philippians 2:1-4, 14-18)

Sunday, October 2, 2011
What’s It Worth? (Text: Philippians 3:4b-11)

Sunday, October 16, 2011
All of Me (Text: Matthew 22:15-22)

Sunday, October 23, 2011
Overmatched and Outwitted (Text: Matthew 22:34-46)

Sunday, October 30, 2011
Free At Last (Text: Romans 3:21-24)

Sunday, November 6, 2011
Future Glory=Present Hope (Text: Revelation 7:9-17)

Sunday, November 13, 2011
If at First You Don’t Succeed… (Text: Matthew 25:14-30)

Sunday, November 20, 2011
Overcoming Death (Text: I Corinthians 15:20-26)

Thanksgiving Eve, Wednesday, November 24, 2011
Thanks In All Circumstances (Text: I Thessalonians 5:18; Psalm 100)